7 Nominated For ATHENA Leadership Award

By Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni
FRAMINGHAM – The United Way of Tri-County will present the 2019 ATHENA Leadership Award at its upcoming Shining Stars Award Celebration.
The event will be held on Thursday, February 28, 2019 from 5:30 to 8 p.m. at the Sheraton Framingham Hotel & Conference Center.
Seven women from across MetroWest have been nominated for the ATHENA Leadership Award including:
  • Nancy Cantor, The Dream Factory
  • Kim Comatas, Partners in Sex Education
  • Katherine Garrahan, Bowditch & Dewey, LLP
  • Chitra Mills, Wayland Public Schools
  • Sylvia Ruiz, Fallon Health & Ruiz Transportation Services, LLC
  • Mae Shoemaker, Acton-Boxborough Public Schools
  • Christine Tibor, Framingham Public Schools and Framingham Adult ESL Plus (Retired)
The 2019 ATHENA Leadership Award is presented to a prominent leader in the MetroWest region for contributing to the advancement of the status of women in the community and the workplace, achievement of
professional excellence, meaningful contribution to community service, and active assistance to women in their attainment of professional and leadership skills.
“Our 2019 ATHENA Award nominees represent a diverse group of women who have volunteered their time and have played a significant role in the development and advancement of girls and women in MetroWest communities,” said Paul Mina, President & CEO of United Way of Tri-County. “We look forward to announcing the winner on February 28.”
An additional eight awards will be presented during the Shining Stars Award Celebration to local businesses, donors, and individuals recognizing their contributions in raising awareness and understanding of the United
Way of Tri-County’s mission and for their dedicated volunteer service, leadership, and community achievement.
The celebration will highlight the United Way of Tri-County’s Call2Talk mental health, emotional support, and suicide prevention program which is celebrating its fifth anniversary in service to our communities.
The 2019 Shining Stars Award Celebration is made possible thanks to the generous sponsorship of Wegmans Natick, Avidia Bank, Instron, MutualOne Bank, Advocates, Inc., St. Mary’s Credit Union, Clinton Savings
Bank, the Office of Senate President Karen Spilka, DCU Bank Framingham and UWTC’s annual Platinum Sponsor, Sunovion Phramaceuticals.